Help educate me and my palate

Fully oxidized tea leaves for a robust cup.

Jan 16th, '08, 08:43

Help educate me and my palate

by osadczuk » Jan 16th, '08, 08:43

So, I'm fairly new to the whole higher tiers of tea thing. Mind you, I have a decent palate and can learn - as, well, I'm a coffee connoisseur. I can distinguish between the flavors of different varietals, roasts, blends, etc. But I did take some time and the ability to brew it properly in order to bring out all of the nuances (the lesson being: if you're not going to use a french press, don't bother.)

So can you help me learn tea, specifically black?

Help me learn the differences between tastes and growing regions, etc.

Help me quench the overwhelming desire to drink everything with milk and sugar.

Basically this question, but for black teas.

Thanks!

Jan 16th, '08, 10:49

by hop_goblin » Jan 16th, '08, 10:49

You are certainly asking a lot; especially if you want us to change how you personally drink tea. IMHO I believe the only way you will accomplish your needs are to to drink and compare teas, visit tea blogs and compare your tasting notes, read - the net is wonderful for providing tea info, and lastly, just don't pour milk or sugar in your teas! :lol: Oh, and most of all, ask specific questions on this forum. I will be glad to help as well as all of the other fine people on here!

Cheers!

Jan 16th, '08, 10:58

by Mary R » Jan 16th, '08, 10:58

Hop's right...experience is sort of key on this one. Besides, everyone's sense of taste is a bit different. Hop might say a tea has a barbeque tone, whereas I might pull a strong note of stone fruits. It's all relative.