Lipton Loose Leaf Tea in America

Fully oxidized tea leaves for a robust cup.

Jul 4th, '08, 18:39

Lipton Loose Leaf Tea in America

by Shai Guy » Jul 4th, '08, 18:39

I picked up a box of Lipton loose leaf Tea at Wal-Mart.It was a little under 4 bucks for half a pound.Is this the same kind sold overseas as Yellow Label???

I think it is CTC if what I read was correct,it's mostly small leaves with a few medium sized ones but nothing like the Whole Leaf Tea I have so this is why I assumed it is CTC but I am still learning.

I actually really like it.It's strong and never brews bitter unless I infuse it for over 6 minutes.I usually add Cardamom and Cinnamon in the pot while I infuse it and add sugar when it is done brewing.It's pretty good.

Another question I have,when people speak of the "strength" of Tea,are they talking taste-wise or stimulant wise?? I could never figure out.

In the Middle East they brew a few teaspoons of Tea with a lot of water and it comes out strong because the way they boil the leaves but stimulant wise its pretty weak.

Jul 5th, '08, 03:34

by omegapd » Jul 5th, '08, 03:34

I'm on my 3rd box of the loose Lipton. I like it too. Much different than the bagged, it makes a nice, stout, Scottish Breakfast type of tea. I don't know if it's the same thing as the overseas label or not. I looked one night on Amazon and they have 3 or 4 different varieties of Lipton loose leaf for sale there.

Jul 5th, '08, 08:29

by Riene » Jul 5th, '08, 08:29

I have some here. It makes a nice strong black tea for making iced tea.
Although my neighbors are all barbarians,
And you, you are a thousand miles away,
There are always two cups on my table.
--Tang Dynasty

Jul 5th, '08, 11:47

Re: Lipton Loose Leaf Tea in America

by joelbct » Jul 5th, '08, 11:47

Shai Guy wrote:Another question I have,when people speak of the "strength" of Tea,are they talking taste-wise or stimulant wise?? I could never figure out.