Steeping questions

For general/other topics related to tea.

Apr 15th, '10, 02:48

Steeping questions

by ajvilar » Apr 15th, '10, 02:48

Hi all, im a bit of a noob when it comes to tea. Just wondering how many steeps can you do for loose leaf teas? Sometimes I feel like I am wasting it just making one cup for myself. I understand it differs for every type just would like to know how. Thanks!

Apr 15th, '10, 03:21

Re: Steeping questions

by olivierco » Apr 15th, '10, 03:21

There aren't any rules. Just try additional steeps and stop when you feel the taste is too watery.

Apr 15th, '10, 06:02

by skilfautdire » Apr 15th, '10, 06:02

I have a bit of the same dilemna: I don't like to waste tea. Since, contrary to supermarket tea bags, there are at least 3 steeps per batch of leaves, I feel compelled to have many cups (each cup about 100 ml that is, not mugs !). And sometimes, like in the morning right after breakfast, I really want to have only but one cup.

So now I'm experimenting with brewing less leaves but raising steeping time. I'm doing this currently against established beliefs, eg. I'm using a 150ml yixing teapot to brew a small batch of this year's Yunnan Mao Feng (current breakfast tea). And so far I'm pleased with the results. Tea leaves are not much and taste is there. I steep it for about 2 minutes. Next step will be reducing the leaves further.

Apr 15th, '10, 08:59
Scrolling: scrolling

by Chip » Apr 15th, '10, 08:59

A lot depends on what you find to be pleasing. I want to extract as much flavor from the leaf as possible, so for Japanese greens, I shoot for 5 and often get more. I find the TeaWater of the later steeps to be pleasing, though I understand many would consider this to be too watery.

Oolong can go well beyond 5, depends on your brewing style.

I often smell the leaves in the pot, that is often a guide as to whether there is still flavor in the leaves.

May 3rd, '10, 00:06

by chittychat » May 3rd, '10, 00:06