Puerh and mold

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Sep 22nd, '09, 17:05

Puerh and mold

by android73 » Sep 22nd, '09, 17:05

Hi all,

I unfortunately just discovered that there is green mold on my cakes. What does one do in this situation? Any advice would be much appreciated. :(

Sep 22nd, '09, 18:38

Re: Puerh and mold

by Mr Wigster » Sep 22nd, '09, 18:38

Green?!

From my understanding, white is "sort of" good, can help with the maturing process.

Yellow mold is bad, and apparently can be "toxic" never seen anybody with green mold before though.

I'm a tea novice btw, so this is just my basic input, before the connoisseurs come along.

Sep 22nd, '09, 18:45

by android73 » Sep 22nd, '09, 18:45

Yes, I have heard that white mold is ok. It doesn't appear to be a lot of mold, but definitely noticeable. It would really suck to have to pitch any of them. :cry:

Sep 22nd, '09, 20:00
Scrolling: scrolling

by brandon » Sep 22nd, '09, 20:00

Start by removing it with a clean (ie new from box) toothbrush or similar device. Let it air out for a bit and see if issues persist.

Is it in a damp area or stored with things that aren't tea?

Sep 22nd, '09, 20:03

by heavydoom » Sep 22nd, '09, 20:03

a photo would be totally radical dude!

Sep 22nd, '09, 23:08

by odarwin » Sep 22nd, '09, 23:08

mind sharing the conditions of where you stored and found the green mold in?

-darwin

Sep 22nd, '09, 23:40

by oldmanteapot » Sep 22nd, '09, 23:40

heavydoom wrote:a photo would be totally radical dude!
+1... yeah a photo speaks a thousand words... hehe.. :-p
odarwin wrote:mind sharing the conditions of where you stored and found the green mold in?
Please share with us.

Cheers!

Sep 23rd, '09, 00:06

by MarshalN » Sep 23rd, '09, 00:06

Green is definitely a bad sign. How green is green?

Sep 23rd, '09, 10:49

by android73 » Sep 23rd, '09, 10:49