Rishi Ancient Pu-erh Tuo Cha ???

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Feb 14th, '10, 05:02
Vendor Member

Rishi Ancient Pu-erh Tuo Cha ???

by blairswhitaker » Feb 14th, '10, 05:02

so I am rather new to puerh, the Rishi tou cha canister offers limited info. I haves some questions and hope someone can find the time to help a newbie out.

1. I assume this tea is ready to drink, or am I wrong?

2. Does it need/ benefit from aging? the web site makes it sound as if it is a 2007 vintage but the canister says nothing other than best before Nov, 2010.

3.I drink all my puerh gong-fu. I am guessing this tea needs to be broken up? Yes/No?

4. Is this tea considered in the shou / shu catagory? I am guessing it is not a sheng but again don't really know.

Thanks to any and all who can help me on the journey, I have always enjoyed being a student of tea and this is a new and interesting chapter.

Thanks in advance, Blair
Live up and Drink up!!!

Feb 14th, '10, 07:11
Scrolling: scrolling

Re: Rishi Ancient Pu-erh Tuo Cha ???

by Drax » Feb 14th, '10, 07:11

Welcome to the forum, and thanks for posting!

Quick answers:

1. Yes, it's ready to drink.
2. I would like to think that all pu'erh gets better with age.
3. These are mini-tuos, so you won't need to break them up (see below)
4. To me, they look like shou.

As for #3, you'll find a lot of people here don't recommend mini-tuos, regardless of the type (shou or sheng). I don't think it's because they're guaranteed to be bad, but there seems to be a higher risk that they're not made using the best stuff

The real test will be whether anybody has had these particular mini-tuos and can give them a thumbs-up or thumbs-down.

Hope that helps, and once again, welcome!

Feb 14th, '10, 10:54

by debunix » Feb 14th, '10, 10:54