mao cha vs beeng cha

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Aug 8th, '11, 20:45

mao cha vs beeng cha

by Ethaneeze » Aug 8th, '11, 20:45

I am quite new to this.

Can somebody please explain the difference. I am relatively sure that I understand what mao cha is/its production.

How do their production methods differ, and what are the taste differences, both in unaged and aged puerh varieties?

Thanks!

Aug 9th, '11, 07:14

Re: mao cha vs beeng cha

by tsverrir » Aug 9th, '11, 07:14

Maocha is just uncompressed (loose leaf) puerh tea whereas bingcha is puerh compressed into disk-like shape.
There are other shapes like Tuocha witch is popular as well. Then the tea is compressed into a bowl like shape.

Some prefer buying maocha since you get better overview of the quality of the leaves. You will find that sometimes bingcha has large beautiful leaves on the outside, but smaller inferior leaves on the inside.

For aging, I think, most prefer the compressed type. It's easier to handle without damaging the leaves and takes far less space. Heavily compressed tea ages slower and more uneven because the inside of the compressed form doesn't get as much oxygen as the outside leaves.
Compressed tea usually needs to be broken up and aired out for a while after long storage. I think this is not the case with maocha.

I'm no expert on this so there are probably people here with more/better information on this topic.

--Sverrir

Jan 16th, '12, 20:16

by kasey » Jan 16th, '12, 20:16

I believe that maocha is still green and fresh, whereas beeng can be either cooked or fresh. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Jan 17th, '12, 06:07

by JakubT » Jan 17th, '12, 06:07

Jan 17th, '12, 06:45
Scrolling: scrolling

by Drax » Jan 17th, '12, 06:45

As Sverrir said, mao cha usually refers to uncompressed tea, at least for pu'erh. It's been processed, but not pressed.

Babelcarp has a good definition to consult, linked here.

Apr 5th, '12, 08:13