Pu-Erh for beginners?

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Jun 19th, '13, 23:46

Pu-Erh for beginners?

by genushumanusalice » Jun 19th, '13, 23:46

I have been drinking all kinds of tea for many years but Pu-Erh? I have never touched it. I feel like there are are a number of barriers to entering the Pu-Erh world and breaking through them alone is very daunting.

1. Where to start? I think I'd like to start out with a small quantity of three or so diverse teas and branch out from there but how does a complete novice pick and what characteristics should I be looking for in different varieties?

2. Expense. Good tea generally isn't cheap but Pu-Erh seems especially not, and I don't even know what I like yet. Spending up on a cake of tea and finding I don't like it doesn't seem like much fun.

3. Accessibility. Can I buy good Pu-Erh in Australia or do I need to order online? Hunting around the web has me a bit saddened as most vendors either don't ship to Australia or charge high shipping rates ($40?!). Yunnan Sourcing looks ok for shipping at about $20 but I'd want to be somewhat certain I'm not going to be disappointed.

4. Brewing. Brewing in a Yixing pot sounds like a lovely ritual but adds to the upfront cost and seems to be a learning curve. I don't have a gaiwan either. Purchasing more teaware is something I'd like to look at once I know if Pu-Erh is for me or not.

Any tips that any of you have for overcoming my Pu-Erh stumbling blocks would be greatly appreciated.

I'd also love to hear about how you were introduced to Pu-Erh, mistakes you made, things you love, etc. :)

Jun 20th, '13, 00:14

Re: Pu-Erh for beginners?

by ChengduCha » Jun 20th, '13, 00:14

1. Where to start?