Anti-oxidant power of raw vs ripe puerh

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Sep 25th, '14, 00:35

Anti-oxidant power of raw vs ripe puerh

by allthebest4u » Sep 25th, '14, 00:35

My burning question regards the anti- oxidantant power of sheng vs shu puerh. I am close to 65 yrs so aging sheng puerh makes little sense. But I'm very interested in a beverage that will maintain my health. I've bought a variety of cakes but wonder if shu or sheng would be better for me. I've read that shu is not regarded as legitimate pu by some purists but I really don't know.

Here's the crux of the biscuit...
I have 30 years of experience of preparing Chinese tonic herbs. All these years the common thread is that the older the herb is, the less potent.

So if puerh's flavor improves with age it must be at the expense of it's power.
I welcome feedback on this.

Sep 25th, '14, 00:57

Re: Anti-oxidant power of raw vs ripe puerh

by chrl42 » Sep 25th, '14, 00:57

Anti-oxidation has many stories, recent studies suggest it might not be the reason why we should drink tea.

But just to answer your question, raw Pu of course contains more anti-oxidation effects than ripe Pu..since ripe Puerh undergoes high heat and procedures,

from little what I know, kings of antioxidant should be white tea and quality raw Puerh. It's about tea leaves, both have bigger tea leaves than their green tea cousins hence contain more vitamins and stuff. Second is process, both use lower or none of heat that might kill less nutrients.
All these years the common thread is that the older the herb is, the less potent.
That's what I heard, too. From what I know, after a decade, Sheng Puerh starts to lose its nutrients. But those plantation Puerh less than a decade will sicken your stomach before talking about health effect, so try the old tree leaves (Gushu) at best.