How shou puerh should taste

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Dec 12th, '15, 10:53

How shou puerh should taste

by prezeus » Dec 12th, '15, 10:53

Hi guys, I'm new to shou puerh. I recently tried my two first shou. Both from YS tea club. First I tried the 2003 xinghai and I was pretty impressed maybe because it was something new to me, I didn't notice any unpleasant flavor the most prominent taste I remember is earthiness.Then I tried a 2005 Menghai friendlier but not as complex.

The second time a brewed the 2003 xinghai (http://yunnansourcing.com/en/xinghaitea ... ake.html)I was not as surprised and did notice some moldy taste, not in a pleasent way for me. Then because I'm new to shou I wanted to know if the earthiness and moldy tastes were normal I did and quick search and found this article.

http://hojotea.com/en/posts-38/

In case you don't want to read everything this is the part that worried me.

Tea with earthy flavour is not the right quality

Some customers have skeptical views on pu-erh tea. Normally, they dislike pu-erh mainly because of the moldy flavour which is caused by the poor quality of the tea. The earthy flavour in pu-erh tea does not only give an unpleasant drinking feeling, but also causes health risks. This defect that occurs in pu-erh is mainly due to the improper fermentation conducted under the wrong conditions, and therefore the incorrect type of mold or bacteria was cultivated.

Some ripe pu-erh tea produces flavour like dried squid or like smelly feet. That odour present due to the contamination of bacteria which is caused by the improper fermentation process or drying process.