Complete Beginner to Puerh

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Apr 25th, '08, 01:36

Complete Beginner to Puerh

by PolyhymnianMuse » Apr 25th, '08, 01:36

So I'm just going to straight out admit that besides reading all the reviews and information about puerh I really know nothing about it. I'm a complete beginner, but I dearly want to jump into it.

Really I'm looking for any help/advice/insight/etc. on where to start, what I should first give a try, basically any knowledge you can fill my brain with would be much appreciated. :wink:
Last edited by PolyhymnianMuse on Apr 25th, '08, 20:02, edited 1 time in total.

Apr 25th, '08, 13:21

Advice

by hop_goblin » Apr 25th, '08, 13:21

You are on the right track. Read reviews, blogs, and even ask Jim of the Puerh Shop or Guang at HouDe Asian Arts for some advice on where to start. Just make sure that you try good pu-erh for your first attempt. Sadly, many who try pu for the first time are turned off as they get a hold of some skunky shag.

Apr 25th, '08, 13:51

by Wesli » Apr 25th, '08, 13:51

You are on the right track. Read reviews, blogs, and even ask Jim of the Puerh Shop or Guang at HouDe Asian Arts for some advice on where to start. Just make sure that you try good pu-erh for your first attempt. Sadly, many who try pu for the first time are turned off as they get a hold of some skunky shag.

i.e. What he said.

Heh, I recommend getting a representative of each category. A young sheng, a (at least partially) aged sheng, and a shu. I would try them in order from young -> aged -> shu.