Smash it with a hammer?

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Feb 18th, '09, 17:40

Smash it with a hammer?

by TeaCompulsion » Feb 18th, '09, 17:40

I've been experimenting with Teasource's Puerh Tuo Cha today, which is a green puerh that comes in little pu pellets, to be used one per brewing session.

The instructions say to simply drop the pellet/nest/chunk into a pot and brew away. This produced a pleasant tea, but that thing has been soaking for hours and a vigorous poking with a chopstick still doesn't make it come apart, though some leaves have been flaked off the outside.

This seems a suboptimal use of the leaf to me, since most of it is not being infused with water. My next thought, unless anyone has better ideas, is to smash the next pellet into bits with a hammer before brewing.

I'm new to the world of tea-that-requires-implements-of-destruction, so what would you do?

Feb 18th, '09, 20:17

by hop_goblin » Feb 18th, '09, 20:17

Idea you say? Well, buy better pu.. don't mean to sound cheeky.

Feb 18th, '09, 21:08

by TeaCompulsion » Feb 18th, '09, 21:08

LOL -- sure, if you can tell me where I can get a workable sample of a better green puerh for under $2, I'd be delighted to have the info.

Feb 18th, '09, 21:14

by hop_goblin » Feb 18th, '09, 21:14

TeaCompulsion wrote:LOL -- sure, if you can tell me where I can get a workable sample of a better green puerh for under $2, I'd be delighted to have the info.
Well, get what you paid for. What else is there to say. Although, I must admit that Xiaguan tuos can stop a nuclear blast as well.

Feb 18th, '09, 21:19

by edkrueger » Feb 18th, '09, 21:19

TeaCompulsion wrote:LOL -- sure, if you can tell me where I can get a workable sample of a better green puerh for under $2, I'd be delighted to have the info.
Assuming those are 5 grams each and that they are $0.39, any 400 gram cake under $31.20 would be cheaper and better.

Feb 18th, '09, 21:59