New to tea.

Please introduce yourself here to our membership

Mar 25th, '13, 17:10

New to tea.

by h2oprnt » Mar 25th, '13, 17:10

Hi guys and gals, I am VERY new to teas, and after reading some, I learned that I was sucked into the Teavana store. But who cares at least I made it right? But I have grown up drinking Lipton, and Teavana did give me first try at loose teas. I like it alot. Just some thoughts on what I might try being a first timer and all?

Mar 25th, '13, 19:09

Re: New to tea.

by amaranto » Mar 25th, '13, 19:09

I and a lot of people I know began drinking white tea before trying other types. Some Bai Mu Dan might be good. There is even jasmine-flavored if you want something scented. The first one that comes to mind is Jing Tea Shop's Bai Mu Dan King. For regular, unscented, I've always ordered from Seven Cups. There are lots of places out there.

Whatever you decide on, welcome!

Mar 25th, '13, 21:26

by h2oprnt » Mar 25th, '13, 21:26

I never realized how complexed the tea world is, very overwhelming. Everything I read is greek to me. So many avenues to go and no arrows I guess you could say. I think I will pick a type of tea and go one at a time. One question though, what is a good tea for night time. I usually have a beer, but looking to get away from that.

Mar 26th, '13, 11:51

by amaranto » Mar 26th, '13, 11:51

I've been told hojicha has less caffeine than other teas, and I like it, but I'd probably go with something herbal if caffeine kept me up. I'm a big fan of rooibos tea, which doesn't have caffeine and tastes great. They say stuff like valerian helps you sleep. There may be an herbal tea that has some. It would have to be covered by a stronger taste because it smells pretty bad by itself :lol:

Mar 26th, '13, 12:04

by h2oprnt » Mar 26th, '13, 12:04