Please introduce yourself here to our membership

Mar 2nd, '08, 12:17

by stargazer » Mar 2nd, '08, 12:17

hello everyone,

i am a newbie to teachat...I love everything Sencha...
i want to get information about Shincha!!! when do i need to order? can i order and keep refrigerated? How do i get Teafridge :?:

Mar 2nd, '08, 12:49
Scrolling: scrolling

Re: Newbie

by Chip » Mar 2nd, '08, 12:49

stargazer wrote:hello everyone,

i am a newbie to teachat...I love everything Sencha...
i want to get information about Shincha!!! when do i need to order? can i order and keep refrigerated? How do i get Teafridge :?:
Hi Stargazer (Lily). Welcome to TeaChat. I hope you visit TeaDay and share what is in your cup. It is a great way to get to know the forum locals.

Shincha usually begins around mid April, but it depends on the Prefecture. Kagoshima and Shizuoka are April, Uji is usually early May. But that does not mean they are instantly available at that time. Many TeaChatters get at least some shincha direct from Japan.

You just have to follow the different sites...TeaChat is a great way to hear about these updates as well.

Shincha should be stored under refrigeration until opened...away from odors. Thus the original TeaFridge was born, just a simple cube fridge "inherited" from my parents when they moved. I can keep it pretty cold too, just above freezing.

But your kitchen fridge can be used as long as there are no odors. I also place my bags into other bags, creating several layers of protection.
blah blah blah SENCHA blah blah blah!!!

Mar 2nd, '08, 13:16

by stargazer » Mar 2nd, '08, 13:16

Thanks chip,

I am in the process of purchasing acessories for Sencha...
today i will order utilitea
i wanted the kyusu teapot from rishi tea...:( sold out
Do you have any recommendations for sench teapot?

within next couple days i want to purchase sencha (i will use my thermometer for temp) Den's or O-cha??? if o-cha...which type???