An experiment in cumulative brewing

Owes its flavors to oxidation levels between green & black tea.

Mar 6th, '13, 19:25

An experiment in cumulative brewing

by Muadeeb » Mar 6th, '13, 19:25

One analogy I use to explain the difference between gong fu and western style brewing is that gong fu is like taking multiple high speed snapshots vs a longer exposure where they all just blur into one flavor. Yes, I'm a photographer....

Lately, I've been wondering if this is accurate, and just how accurate. So I've thought up an experiment that I plan on trying out, but maybe the more experienced tea drinkers can tell me if I've missed something. I have two identical Bodum teapots, and I plan on using them like so:

Bodum Pot #1:

Put 5g of tea into a Gaiwan and bring water to a "boil" in my kettle set to the Oolong setting (approx 205 degrees). Pour the water into my carafe to keep it at a steady temperature and then use it to brew the tea. Let's say 10s steeps, repeat until the Bodum is full, counting the number of brews it takes. Let's say it takes 8 steeps. This would yield a total brewing time of 80s (8 steeps x 10 seconds per steep.

Bodum Pot #2:

Put 5g of tea into a strainer and then into the Bodum, pour the same temp water over them and fill this pot to the same level as the first one. Let the tea steep for 80s and then remove the strainer.

Taste tea from both pots. I don't think this needs to be a blind tasting since I'm not trying to judge which one i like better, just seeing if they taste the same.

I would expect that tea from both pots would taste the same, but then again, maybe they won't? I do plan on actually trying this, but I wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions about which kind of tea to use and if there is anything I've missed/should tweak before I sacrifice 10g of tea to this experiment? I was thinking about using something like a light green oolong, so that differences would show up easier.

Any comments or suggestions?

Mar 6th, '13, 19:46