Using leaves multiple times

Owes its flavors to oxidation levels between green & black tea.

Jan 29th, '09, 08:41

Using leaves multiple times

by erik » Jan 29th, '09, 08:41

Hi

I'm a complete tea novice, having been recommended to drink tea for medical reasons I have found that I am feeling a lot better. I have been drinking a golden oolong from my local tea shop and using a Bodum glass teapot with built in infuser. My question is - If I make a pot of tea and leave the leafs in the infuser after Im finished, can I use these leafs again later on? If I can how long can I just leave them in the infuser before I make the next pot

Hope this hasnt been asked lots and I just cant find it

Thanks in advance

Erik

Jan 29th, '09, 09:19
Scrolling: scrolling

by Victoria » Jan 29th, '09, 09:19

Hello, yes you can! And should! You can definitely get at least one more good steep, maybe two. Up the time a couple of minutes each time. There is no rule for how long you can keep them - whatever you are comfortable with. I like to use them in the same day, but I have kept them over night in the fridge if the tea was a very good or expensive one.

Jan 29th, '09, 11:09

by Shelob » Jan 29th, '09, 11:09

Victoria wrote:Hello, yes you can! And should! You can definitely get at least one more good steep, maybe two. Up the time a couple of minutes each time. There is no rule for how long you can keep them - whatever you are comfortable with. I like to use them in the same day, but I have kept them over night in the fridge if the tea was a very good or expensive one.
Definately good advice, especially with blacks, however I almost always multisteep and keep leaves in my pot/gaiwan/kyusu all day, then have SLT at night, (soggy leaf tea)!
This phrase I do believe was coined by our moderator, Chip!
Like Victoria, I put any leftovers covered in fridge overnite to use the next day!

Glad you are here and hope to see many more posts... and questions too! 8)
Have a FAB TeaDay Everyone!