Cramping my style?

Trends and Tips on developing and operating a tea business.

Cramping my style?

Postby dadams7 » Aug 29th, '09, 02:46

Before I start, I would like to apologize for the long-windedness of my post; it's just my nature. Now to begin...
I am a 24 year old student at a fairly prestigious southern university pursuing my MBA. I will be graduating in May. I have always enjoyed tea, but for the six years that I've been in the South (originally from the NoVA area) I haven't been able to indulge in my passion because there is literally nowhere to get loose-leaf tea (of any quality for that matter) in this city (maybe even the state). I finally buckled down and ordered some online and received it last week. As I was enjoying my tea I had one of the most powerful "Eureka!" moments of my life and decided that I should bring high quality loose-leaf tea to this area. I have many Chinese friends, and spoke to one about my idea. He agreed to go into this venture with me. We imagine a place where we can sell loose-leaf tea as well as an atmosphere for people to sit and enjoy their tea. A very large part of the business model was that we would be the ONLY suppliers for a very large distance. He says that he will be going back to China in December and while he is there, he will locate suppliers from different provinces for different teas. Great. And we already have a supplier in Taiwan. Now just looking for Japanese and Indian suppliers (any ideas anyone?) It seemed like things were going well, and I put an aggressive timeline to open our place in May after we graduate.
Since there is nowhere here to get tea, I figured that I would have an incredible competitive advantage from the product differentiation side. There are a million coffee shops as this is a college town, so I saw this as out biggest obstacle. We thought that we would have to shift the culture of the town from away from a strict coffee diet.