design student designing a tea house

Trends and Tips on developing and operating a tea business.

design student designing a tea house

Postby eliana » Oct 11th, '07, 22:24

hi,
i am an interior design student and was just assigned a project to design a tea house geared for a young crowd (20 to 35).
i am in the process and am trying to research everything i can abou tea, its history, tea houses, the difference b/w tea and coffee and coffee houses and tea houses etc.
i was wondering if anyone has any suggestions, info, comments or truly any reply that could possibly aid me in this assignment and truly guide me to create a strong, innovative and creative design.
eliana

Postby xine » Oct 12th, '07, 11:20

Hey Eliana. I would suggest checking out our tea room directory- teamap.com (link on top of the page) and looking through the tearooms, many of which have pictures. You'll find a lot of chintz and lace, but there are several more modern styles of tea rooms.

Also, the latest Bon Appetit magazine has a list of 'Hip Tearooms'. On the list: Tavalon (our own ex-Adagio's place in NYC), T-Bar in Philly, Samovar lounge in San Francisco, Beehive in Salt Lake City, and I *believe* two more, but I could be mistaken- I don't have the magazine here with me. I would look these all up online to see if they have any good images to get a feel on 'hip' tea rooms.

I have come to notice people go to tea rooms for more of an experience, than stopping in to grab a cup of tea- such as one would do with coffee. The tea rooms I've gone to require more of time commitment, more so than an in-out experience, but you might want to change this with your tea room, since it is for a younger crowd. But then it might not be considered a tea room (in many tea lovers eyes), but more so a cafe.