Mar 18th, '13, 12:42

Patina vs. Rings

by Muadeeb » Mar 18th, '13, 12:42

Maybe it's because I'm a noob and don't know how to properly buff a teapot, but I like how my tea stains are building up on my pots.
IMG_6029.jpg
IMG_6029.jpg (29.84 KiB) Viewed 1438 times
Am I the only one who doesn't find this ugly?

Mar 18th, '13, 12:43

Re: Patina vs. Rings

by yanom » Mar 18th, '13, 12:43

I like it.

Mar 18th, '13, 12:47

by edkrueger » Mar 18th, '13, 12:47

Is that Lincoln or Kiwi?

Mar 18th, '13, 12:59

by Muadeeb » Mar 18th, '13, 12:59

edkrueger wrote:Is that Lincoln or Kiwi?
huh?

Mar 18th, '13, 13:05
Vendor Member

by TIM » Mar 18th, '13, 13:05

Are you familiar with the idea of Wabi-sabi?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wabi-sabi

Mar 18th, '13, 13:44

by Muadeeb » Mar 18th, '13, 13:44

TIM wrote:Are you familiar with the idea of Wabi-sabi?
I am, and I'm a big fan! It just seems how most folks on here brush and buff their pots to avoid the dark stains. Maybe if I knew how to do it right I would give it a shot.

Mar 18th, '13, 13:58

by Poohblah » Mar 18th, '13, 13:58

Muadeeb wrote:
edkrueger wrote:Is that Lincoln or Kiwi?
huh?
brands of Yixing stainer. :P or shoe polish in layman's terms

Mar 18th, '13, 14:06

by Muadeeb » Mar 18th, '13, 14:06

Haha, nope, just 2 months of dark oolongs, almost daily use.

Mar 18th, '13, 14:10
Vendor Member

by TIM » Mar 18th, '13, 14:10

Muadeeb wrote:
TIM wrote:Are you familiar with the idea of Wabi-sabi?
I am, and I'm a big fan! It just seems how most folks on here brush and buff their pots to avoid the dark stains. Maybe if I knew how to do it right I would give it a shot.
Seems like you did some scrubbing to the body of the pot recently? I guess you either do a full scrub/polish (traditional) or you dont scrub at all (wabi). Just not in between :lol: Just my 2 cents.

Mar 18th, '13, 14:15

by Muadeeb » Mar 18th, '13, 14:15

TIM wrote: