May 31st, '13, 10:00

Novice question about yunomis

by caulfield » May 31st, '13, 10:00

Does it burn your fingers? Can you walk around drinking out of it like a mug?

I'm new to non-Western tea traditions, but I really like learning about them. I bought a gaiwan, but I always burn my fingers on it.

May 31st, '13, 10:15

Re: Novice question about yunomis

by theredbaron » May 31st, '13, 10:15

It depends. If your drink Sencha from your Yunomi than it won't burn your fingers as Sencha is brewed with much cooler water than Black tea.
It also depends on the glaze and clay of the particular Yunomi.

May 31st, '13, 10:22

by JBaymore » May 31st, '13, 10:22

A yonomi HAS a "handle". It is built into your hand.

They are made to be gripped so that the thumb is placed on the top of the rim/lip and the middle finger is placed on the bottom surface of the foot ring. The rim remains cooler due to air circulation and not being filled to the rim and the thicker foot ring remains cool because of the thermal mass of the clay causing the temperature of the clay to be lower.

best,

...............john

May 31st, '13, 10:25

by David R. » May 31st, '13, 10:25

I don't think that the purpose of a yunomi is to be filled much. You can always grab it by the top. In Japan, people tend to drink with two hands, one hand on the side and one hand underneath. I think it is tradition more than a heat problem.

May 31st, '13, 11:07
Scrolling: scrolling

by Running for Tea » May 31st, '13, 11:07

In my experience, if the yunomi is hot enough to burn my hand, the tea will certainly burn my mouth. Using my thumb and middle finger around the top has worked well for me. Its the position I find comfortable, and its fine as long as I avoid filling to the rim. My thought is that you are more likely to spill and burn yourself than to burn your fingers holding it. That being said, I comfortably walk around with my yunomi and haven't had much trouble :mrgreen: