Geekgirl Photo: The Art of Tea

Artisans share their Teaware Art.

May 30th, '09, 19:37
Scrolling: scrolling

Geekgirl Photo: The Art of Tea

by Geekgirl » May 30th, '09, 19:37

Pardon me GeekgirlUnveiled for posting here in your original post.

Moderator comment. Per rule #4 of TeawareArtisans Guidelines, I have invited our own "Geek" to particpate in this subforum,
normally reserved for makers of teaware. I hope you agree that her photographs are a great compliment to TeawareArtisans.

I bid you welcome to TeawareArtisans, GeekgirlUnveiled

Many years ago, I took up photography as a hobby. It was a high school thing, I used my dad's SLR (a Minolta SRT-101,) and took the photography class from the art department. It was largely an unstructured thing, focused mostly on learning to use a darkroom.

I shot avidly for about a year and a half, then I graduated. No longer having access to the darkroom at the school, I stopped shooting "real" film, and mostly just used a point and shoot, occasionally and not to very good effect.

A little over 2 years ago, I took up shooting "for serious." We purchased a digital SLR (Canon Rebel XTi,) and I gradually added a couple of nicer lenses. I spent many hours in the Chinese and Japanese Gardens here in Portland, in other parks, in my yard. I got some nice photos, but I never felt like anything was really "stand out." I did learn how to handle a camera, about lighting, composition, and other elements of photography. What I really wanted to do was tell a story, evoke a mood, portray an idea.

Mid year, last year, I discovered two things that changed the art for me: Tea, and Poppets. You all have seen some of each on this DB. In this thread, I'd like to share some of my photos inspired by the Art of Tea. I hope you'll find them evocative.