[SOLVED] Cheap everyday sencha

Made from leaves that have not been oxidized.

Nov 21st, '11, 00:11

[SOLVED] Cheap everyday sencha

by sencha » Nov 21st, '11, 00:11

I'm considering buying Chinese sencha from Upton Tea Imports. Does anyone have any experience with sencha grown in China? I'm wondering if it'll taste anything similar to Adagio's "Sencha Overture," which I absolutely loved, but I'm looking for a cheaper alternative to buy in bulk. I'm new to loose leaf teas and I've sampled a few of Adagio's offerings (and loved them), but Upton is a lot cheaper on almost everything and they have such a large selection. I know they're probably not top quality, but I don't need and can't afford many of the more expensive teas, so as long as the tea is decent, I'll be happy. So my second question is: is Upton a decent tea company for someone like me?

I did a search but didn't come up with any satisfactory answers specific to my question.

Thanks 8)
Last edited by sencha on Nov 10th, '12, 14:54, edited 3 times in total.

Nov 21st, '11, 00:40
Scrolling: scrolling

Re: Chinese vs Japanese sencha

by Chip » Nov 21st, '11, 00:40

Hi Sencha, it is amazing nobody ever too that name on TeaChat.

Chinese sencha is generally bad, period. And frankly Upton has too many teas for them to be fresh, especially greens ... IMHO. I used to buy a lot from Upton but once I moved on, I never looked back.

Having such a large selection is seductive to a tea lover, but she is a siren at best.

Nov 21st, '11, 00:49

by sencha » Nov 21st, '11, 00:49

Hey Chip,

Thanks for the fast response :D If not Upton, what are my other choices for fairly cheap greens? I don't need top quality. I'd like to buy in bulk and the most I can afford is Adagio's gunpowder at the moment. If I went with Upton, I'd be able to buy other types of tea as well considering they're cheap. However, being cheap and good at the same time is an oxymoron I guess.

Thank you :)

Nov 21st, '11, 07:37