Dragon Tea House

Made from leaves that have not been oxidized.

Aug 17th, '08, 14:18
Scrolling: scrolling

by Chip » Aug 17th, '08, 14:18

Although I have no personal experience with DTH, my general experience with Chinese greens is there comes a point of diminishing returns the higher in quality AND PRICE you go.

I can usually justify the increase in quality and price to a point, finding my niche around the middle to upper grades. I rarely however go to the absolute highest grades as the increase in price is rarely justifiable from a taste aspect. It is often more cosmetic or only discernable in side by side tasting and comparisons.

Just an example, I can be pretty content with a higher quality Xi Hu Long Jing from a reputable seller costing 20 to 40 USD per 50 grams. I would not be so happy with one costing 75 USD or more that tastes the same.

Aug 17th, '08, 14:46

by Geekgirl » Aug 17th, '08, 14:46

Chip wrote:Although I have no personal experience with DTH, my general experience with Chinese greens is there comes a point of diminishing returns the higher in quality AND PRICE you go.
I suppose that is true of any type of tea (wine, beer, chocolate, pick your poison,) in which a person is an enthusiast, but not necessarily a connoisseur. For example, I would say the identical thing about sencha, shincha, matcha, which I note by your postings, you derive great enjoyment out of some of the premium offerings, and for the connoisseur there is a discernible difference between the medium grades and top grades.

In my experience, there is still a measurable jump in quality with certain chinese green teas, such as pi lo chun, dragonwell, jasmine, when you make the leap to the highest grade. Someone else who is not as drawn to those varieties, may well think I'm crazy for paying 50-100% MORE per ounce for the top grade vs. the middle grade right below. (And they may be right!)