Oolong lover - introduction

Please introduce yourself here to our membership

Sep 20th, '09, 11:17

Oolong lover - introduction

by rhondabee » Sep 20th, '09, 11:17

Hello,

I have been reading this forum and it is very informative. I have been drinking loose leaf tea off and on since the mid 1990's. I was introduced to Taiwanese oolongs by a boyfriend who traveled there for work. He brought back some green teas, black teas and the oolongs, and it was green oolongs that I really liked. He showed me the gung fu style of serving tea. You know the relationship didn't last when he kept the best tea for himself and didn't share it with me! I think he bought me a large decorative cardboard canister of Ten Ren oolong. I don't know what type as there is no english on the container. I am assuming it was a Dong Ding, though. After I ran out of that, I tried to find more locally, but it was hard as I didn't know the type of oolong to request. I only knew it was green oolong from Taiwan, and the leaves were rolled. Through the years I think I ended up buying the Chinese green gunpowder tea, and one store gave me Fanciest Formosa Oolong, (Oriental Beauty) and another place only had the Iron Goddess of Mercy TGY (good). So this year after beginning to drink tea regularly again I decided to find some good sources to buy my Taiwanese oolong. So now I have a sampler of the high mountain oolongs from Floating Leaves plus Dong Ding and Jin Xuan, and some teas from TC Formosa Tea Company. Drinking this tea always puts me in a good mood and gives me balance and focus. I drink it every day at work now, and on the weekends when I get a chance. Looking forward to chatting about tea - although I confess I lurk a lot.

Sep 20th, '09, 11:31
Scrolling: scrolling

Re: Oolong lover - introduction

by Salsero » Sep 20th, '09, 11:31

Good story, thanks for sharing it. Lurking is just fine, but it's also nice to hear your thoughts! Welcome.

Sep 20th, '09, 11:39

by Dreamer » Sep 20th, '09, 11:39