Pu-erh in bamboo

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Nov 5th, '09, 21:53

Pu-erh in bamboo

by skilfautdire » Nov 5th, '09, 21:53

Hello,

I'm new to pu-erh and quality teas in general. And I think I haven't chosen the easiest one to brew: a pu-erh tea that's found inside a bamboo stick. I have some other teas, but this one is interesting and I'm curious about it. It smells quite good too. The tea itself is highly compacted and dense.

What is the recommended way to preapre such a tea ? So far I've broken a thumb sized piece, rinsed it in hot water, then proceeded to make two cups of a somewhat very light drink. After the second cup I took the piece, which has become softer, and was able to make it into smaller peices and proceeded with two more cups. These cups started to reflect the smell of the tea. And I stopped there.

The tea is the Wenshan Aromatic Bamboo Roasted Pu-erh, from Yunnan Sourcing.

It doesn't seems that this tea can yield any leafs like regular pu-erh that unfolds in a teapot. The pieces remains as such, pieces, even when broken down. Perhaps I haven't steeped it long enough. Maybe that's the kind of tea to start and end the day with.

Any suggestions on how to prepare this kind of tea appreciated.

Cheers.

Nov 6th, '09, 13:18

Re: Pu-erh in bamboo

by beecrofter » Nov 6th, '09, 13:18

Just try to tease apart layers of the cylinder. These traditional Dai style border teas are addicting and Scott over at YS gets a few nice ones.
One pointer is if the tea comes out a bit harsh try using water 10-20 degees cooler.

Nov 22nd, '09, 12:51

by nonc_ron » Nov 22nd, '09, 12:51

skilfautdire wrote:Hello,
I haven't chosen the easiest one to brew: a pu-erh tea that's found inside a bamboo stick.