Bai Mudan vs Bai Hao Yin Zhen

White and yellow teas are among the most subtle.

Sep 17th, '18, 12:09

Bai Mudan vs Bai Hao Yin Zhen

by Tea&Whisky » Sep 17th, '18, 12:09

Hello all. I'm fairly new to tea and this is my first post here.

Most of my experience so far has been with Japanese green, oolong and western blends of black tea, along with a few others. Just recently I decided to try white tea, specifically the two mentioned above. So I ordered a sample of each from Verdant Tea. (first time I've used them)
Each tea came in a 5g single serve package.

I tried the Yin Zhen first. My first impression was that it was ok, but there was something about it that stopped me from liking it immediately. It had a very pale yellow cup; the smell was floral, sweet, and very slightly vegetal; and it had a sweet, floral taste, with very subtle fruity and vegetal notes. After a few cups, I realized what I didn't like. It was almost overbearingly sweet, and kinda viscous; almost like honey water or a very fluid syrup. And the taste kinda lingered after each cup so that it compounded with each additional cup. The sweetness really overpowered everything else. I think I had four cups total. Not sure how many steeps white tea is typically good for, but I think if I continued long enough I would've eventually gagged.

By comparison, I tried the Bai Mudan a few days later and it was pretty similar, but perfectly balanced. It also had some very slight spicy notes in the taste. Needless to say, at this point I'm ready to add White Peony to my cabinet and leave move on from Silver Needle.

I was just wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience and what your preferences are when it comes to white tea.

By the way, because I had no prior experience with white tea, I just followed the gongfu instructions on the store's site. If you do it differently, I'd like to know.