Ali Shan question?

Owes its flavors to oxidation levels between green & black tea.

Jan 12th, '09, 23:08

Ali Shan question?

by befloyd » Jan 12th, '09, 23:08

I just tried Ali Shan a couple of days ago. It is my first Oolong tea. I did not care too much for it. The aroma was not particularly pleasant and the flavor was spinach-like. Everyone raves about this tea, and I am new to this as well, so I might be making it wrong. Here is how I made it:

Water at 212 in my IngenuiTEA (16 oz)
Two teaspoons of leaves
Steeped @ 8 min (I accidentally went over)
Some sugar

Did I ruin it? If I can make it better I will give it another shot.

Thanks,

- A tea noobie

Jan 12th, '09, 23:14

by murrius » Jan 12th, '09, 23:14

I steep Ali Shan at about 190 F. I would ordinarily steep oolong at the boiling point but I don't like the results with Ali Shan. Also, I steep the first infusion for about 1 minute then successive pots for less time as the leaves open more. This is in line with my tastes anyway.

Jan 12th, '09, 23:26
Scrolling: scrolling

by Salsero » Jan 12th, '09, 23:26

• EIGHT MINUTES!
Are you insane?

Seriously, I agree with Murrius on the first steep, but I use boiling water for all oolongs and tend to move up from 1 minute rather than down. I think I may use a lot more leaf than that, but if you are making 16 oz that could get expensive. Play with it till you get something you like. Most people like Ali Shan so it's probably your brewing that is off. Or it is really stale or otherwise lousy Ali Shan, which is not too likely unless you bought it in the supermarket from one of those bulk food displays.

Jan 12th, '09, 23:32
Vendor Member

by gingkoseto » Jan 12th, '09, 23:32

I googled "brewing oolong", and got this in the first a few lines:

http://www.yayateahouse.co.nz/Brewing-Oolong-Tea.php

(btw, 85C is about 190F, and 100ml is 3.4oz.)

It's not perfect, but if you follow it, you will definitely see improvement (but you can keep using boiling water if you want).