Stupid Question re: Chinese Restaurant Tea

Owes its flavors to oxidation levels between green & black tea.

Feb 20th, '09, 10:31

Stupid Question re: Chinese Restaurant Tea

by shesallthat » Feb 20th, '09, 10:31

Forgive me if this sounds stupid...but I would love to purchase tea that I drink in a Chinese Restaurant. Everytime I go to a Chinese Restaurant I ask the waiter what kind of tea is this and he says "I don't know". I ask "Oolong"...he says "yes"...I say "Jasmine"..he goes "I don't know". They also will not sell me this mystery tea. Whenever I have tried to buy tea (in shops) I have been disappointed...maybe the tea in the restaurants is inferior :?: ...or maybe the ones from the shops are too superior (not crazy for Monkey Picked). So tell me, as I am new to teas and new here...what is the Adagio Oolong that will bring me the joy that I am looking for? Thank you so much :) .

Feb 20th, '09, 11:29

by chrl42 » Feb 20th, '09, 11:29

Hi, I've noticed Chinese restaurants in US mostly serve Oolong or Jasmine, depending on the mood.

I assume it was Jasmine, most beginners fall for Jasmine when they first apporach TEA :)

Feb 20th, '09, 13:03

by shesallthat » Feb 20th, '09, 13:03

If it is Jasmine...I notice there are a couple that Adagio sells. So which one would it be. also I always thought Chinese restaurants served oolong...isn't Jasmine considered a green tea? Thanks again.

Feb 20th, '09, 13:16
Vendor Member

by gingkoseto » Feb 20th, '09, 13:16

shesallthat wrote:If it is Jasmine...I notice there are a couple that Adagio sells. So which one would it be. also I always thought Chinese restaurants served oolong...isn't Jasmine considered a green tea? Thanks again.
But does the tea have jasmine flavor? That is the most direct way to tell if it's jasmine tea :D