Aug 10th, '15, 14:38

Why do some cultures steep black tea for only 1-2 minutes?

by ClarG » Aug 10th, '15, 14:38

I have a friend that's Indian and when she makes black tea she steeps it for only 30 seconds, 1 minute or two minutes at the most, and she said how in India most people steep tea this way.

I also have green tea with cardamom from Pakistan and on the directions it says to steep it for 2 minutes only. I steep it for 3 minutes since at two minutes it's too weak for me and I can barely taste it.

Aug 10th, '15, 15:53

Re: Why do some cultures steep black tea for only 1-2 minutes?

by hopeofdawn » Aug 10th, '15, 15:53

How much leaf are they using? More leaves+less water=shorter brewing times, generally.

Aug 10th, '15, 16:07

by Nu2Tea » Aug 10th, '15, 16:07

I suppose it all depends on what the drinker feels tastes right.

I'm pretty new to tea, and have been a black coffee drinker for many decades. So to me, a lot of teas when made by what the directions say, results in hot water, with no flavor. To me, you could almost save yourself a lot of effort and money, by just putting some hot water in a cup, and adding 1/4 of a drop of yellow food coloring, and basically have the same effect.

My palette is not refined enough to decipher all the delicate nuances. It's rusty water!. I'm looking for strong flavor, something substantial, especially first thing in the morning. Not delicate little suggestions, that you have to concentrate on, and then in the end it tastes like...... Water!

Again, I'm new to teas so maybe my tastes will change in time, but I've been trying a lot of the sampler packs, and the non black teas for me so far are not worth the trouble. I'll probably go through all the samplers to get an idea of what's what. But so far, I kind of think I need to double the amount of tea I need, and steep for at least 5 mins and stick with the black teas. The other teas have been far too weak and flavorless for me. Time will tell in the end.