How long does black tea last?

Fully oxidized tea leaves for a robust cup.

Nov 7th, '07, 14:00

How long does black tea last?

by Michael_C » Nov 7th, '07, 14:00

I had some of my trusty Irish Breakfast this morning and it tasted... well, a little off, maybe stale. I've been drinking green every day for the past three months or so, but wanted to try the black again. I recall buying this about ten months ago from Adagio, and storing it in a nice tea canister (not the one it shipped in). Is there a 'best by' date for black teas?

Nov 7th, '07, 14:22

by bambooforest » Nov 7th, '07, 14:22

It is my understanding black tea can remain fresh for 2 years. Maybe some varieties even longer.

Is your tea canister as close to air tight as possible? I think some canisters simply let too much air in and even black tea will be effected after some time.

Nov 7th, '07, 14:35

by Wesli » Nov 7th, '07, 14:35

Yeah, black teas only last so long. They're not nearly as picky as other teas, they can easily last over a year. However, if the leaves get too much air flow, then they will degrade much faster. I've never tasted a "stale" black tea, so I'm no help in identifying your tea's quality.

Nov 7th, '07, 20:04

by Michael_C » Nov 7th, '07, 20:04

It's an airtight container. I think maybe I've just readjusted my palette to greens and whites. It could have been normal black-tea bitterness. I will order a sample from Adagio, but it seems as though my love of greens has put me off of blacks (and maybe reds). Hmmm.

Nov 7th, '07, 20:26

by Wesli » Nov 7th, '07, 20:26

That must be it. :wink:

Nov 11th, '07, 16:02
Location: Somewhere in the wilds of Montana, but never without a teacup.

by skywarrior » Nov 11th, '07, 16:02