Raw vs cooked puerh: what gives?

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

May 24th, '10, 17:35

Raw vs cooked puerh: what gives?

by spinmail » May 24th, '10, 17:35

Pardon my naivete, but a puerh issue nags at me.

I've sampled several raw and cooked puerh teas, mostly from larger cakes. You'd expect the cooked cakes to have a richer color and taste; I have also found that raw cakes, even well-reviewed ones, seem a little lacking in taste.

Are there any raw puerh cakes that have a rich taste and color? Or, put another way, do I have to wait years and years before a raw cake starts looking and tasting relatively full and mature? Every time I've sampled a raw puerh, the taste just hasn't been there (yet).

Thanks in advance for your expertise.

May 24th, '10, 17:48

Re: Raw vs cooked puerh: what gives?

by rabbit » May 24th, '10, 17:48

Don't quote me on this because I'm no expert on pu, but I'm pretty sure the taste of raw gains complexity and depth with age, and the cooked is an artificial way of speeding up the process.

May 24th, '10, 18:25

by spinmail » May 24th, '10, 18:25

Thanks for your response.

Does that mean that all raw puerh teas taste relatively bland? When I've tried samples of well-reviewed raw teas from 2007 - 2009, they're uniformly pretty insipid. Does that mean that all raw puerh teas have to aged for 10 to 20 years or longer? It seem impractical to manage one's teas this way? Or do people actually like some immature puerh teas?

I'm fairly well tutored on most teas, but it seems that puerhs require reserving a fair part of your natural life before they reach their peak. Am I interpreting the issue correctly?

May 24th, '10, 18:31

by wyardley » May 24th, '10, 18:31