Anti-oxidant power of raw vs ripe puerh

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Sep 25th, '14, 00:35

Anti-oxidant power of raw vs ripe puerh

by allthebest4u » Sep 25th, '14, 00:35

My burning question regards the anti- oxidantant power of sheng vs shu puerh. I am close to 65 yrs so aging sheng puerh makes little sense. But I'm very interested in a beverage that will maintain my health. I've bought a variety of cakes but wonder if shu or sheng would be better for me. I've read that shu is not regarded as legitimate pu by some purists but I really don't know.

Here's the crux of the biscuit...
I have 30 years of experience of preparing Chinese tonic herbs. All these years the common thread is that the older the herb is, the less potent.

So if puerh's flavor improves with age it must be at the expense of it's power.
I welcome feedback on this.

Oct 3rd, '14, 13:38

Re: Anti-oxidant power of raw vs ripe puerh

by entropyembrace » Oct 3rd, '14, 13:38

The anti-oxidant power of fermented tea is going to be reduced compared to fresh tea. It doesn't matter if that's because it was fermented quickly as in shu pu or slowly as in aged sheng. There's other reasons to drink those teas, mainly because people enjoy them, also they seem to be good for digestion. Among puerh sheng from the most recent harvest will be best but...The best anti-oxidant power of any tea will be from deep steamed green tea (fukamushi sencha).

That said all true tea is fairly similar chemically and is not a powerful medicine so I doubt it will have a dramatic alteration to your health unless you're using it as a substitute for less healthy beverages like soda or alcohol.

Oct 3rd, '14, 14:16

by steanze » Oct 3rd, '14, 14:16

Usually the tea with the most antioxidants is matcha, because you actually drink the powdered leaves.

Oct 3rd, '14, 14:30

by entropyembrace » Oct 3rd, '14, 14:30