Hello, new to TeaChat and somewhat to tea drinking

Please introduce yourself here to our membership

Aug 10th, '09, 21:06

Hello, new to TeaChat and somewhat to tea drinking

by ladywolfsong » Aug 10th, '09, 21:06

Hi everyone! I found Adiago Teas yesterday through StumbleUpon...it's a...well, you register, check boxes in areas your interested in, there's a wide variety of things like photography, parenting, foreign languages, music, all kinds of stuff, and then you install a small program that puts a "Stumble" button on your browser. When you click the button, it takes you to random sites on the internet based on your interests. I've become addicted!
So that's HOW I got here, but not WHY. I've always enjoyed tea, and often find it very soothing, but I am a relative tea novice. I'm one who has only had tea in boxes from supermarkets. I know this isn't "real tea", but I do love Celestial Seasonings. I had toy tea sets as a little girl, and loved to play with them, but first as a teenager and then as an adult, I've only had tea out of coffee mugs or styrofoam cups. I've never had a real tea set!
I'm very low-income, so I've never been able to justify to myself spending money on teapots and teacups and things...but I find myself wanting more and more to become involved in the world of tea. So many flavors to try, so much to learn. I'm starting with just coffee mugs here, could you help me figure out what are the most important supplies to start with? I'll have to pick up things gradually, but I'd like to know if I ordered tea next week, what would I need to brew and drink it with?