Taiwanese Oolongs--Need Some Schooling & Recommendations

Owes its flavors to oxidation levels between green & black tea.

Jun 13th, '12, 00:25

Taiwanese Oolongs--Need Some Schooling & Recommendations

by Garrett » Jun 13th, '12, 00:25

Some I'm kind of new to the game and could use some guidance here.

I have had several Taiwanese oolongs from a local tea shop that really piqued my interest, but the truth is that I have no idea what actual teas they were (each was simply described as "High Mountain Oolong", with slightly different levels of oxidation).

Everything from the fragrance, the taste, the mouth feel, and the evolution of these characteristics during different infusions has me hooked.

So now I'm at the point where I want to branch out and see what else is out there. Could you guys recommend some good Taiwanese oolongs for me to try out? I want something that's at least decent and representative of each tea, but at the same time I obviously don't want to drop big time money while I'm in the exploratory stages.

If it helps, I intend to keep brewing with my small porcelain gaiwan, and I usually tend to gravitate more toward the greener side of oolongs.

Thanks so much guys!

-Garrett

Jun 13th, '12, 01:21

Re: Taiwanese Oolongs--Need Some Schooling & Recommendations

by Tead Off » Jun 13th, '12, 01:21

I suggest to you that you at least read the information provided by some vendors as to the different types of oolongs offered, where they are grown in Taiwan, and, the amount of oxidation or roasting they have had.

Vendors like teafromtaiwan.com, t-oolong, and, Tea Home on ebay, have plenty of info about the teas that they offer. Then, you can make some choices as to what you might like.

Jun 13th, '12, 04:28

by MarshalN » Jun 13th, '12, 04:28

I'd recommend teahome as a good and relatively cheap place to start.

Jun 13th, '12, 06:16

by Garrett » Jun 13th, '12, 06:16

Thanks I'll have to take a look at them.