Sourness in young high roasted/high oxidized oolong?

Owes its flavors to oxidation levels between green & black tea.

Oct 23rd, '15, 19:28

Sourness in young high roasted/high oxidized oolong?

by Zacherywolf7 » Oct 23rd, '15, 19:28

Any one have any thoughts or opinions about finding sourness in young high roasted/high oxidized oolong? I have a Buddha's Hand (maybe it is the cultivar) and I want to love it but sourness gets in the way. It was harvested and roasted this year so storage can not be to blame (not too mention I am in the pacific northwest of the US). It borders near a black tea which I have very little experience with - do black teas have sourness? Here is the link to the tea:https://songtea.com/tea/oolong/buddha-hand

Thank you.

Oct 23rd, '15, 23:48

Re: Sourness in young high roasted/high oxidized oolong?

by Tead Off » Oct 23rd, '15, 23:48

Zacherywolf7 wrote:Any one have any thoughts or opinions about finding sourness in young high roasted/high oxidized oolong? I have a Buddha's Hand (maybe it is the cultivar) and I want to love it but sourness gets in the way. It was harvested and roasted this year so storage can not be to blame (not too mention I am in the pacific northwest of the US). It borders near a black tea which I have very little experience with - do black teas have sourness? Here is the link to the tea:https://songtea.com/tea/oolong/buddha-hand

Thank you.
It's very difficult to comment on what you are tasting without sharing the same tea. Some people like sourness.

Some suggestions to how you are brewing the tea, what kind of vessel you use, and the actual quality of the tea, all come to mind. What I usually do with a tea that I'm not satisfied with is change how I'm brewing it. If I can't find a satisfactory way, I don't bother with the tea. It's not worth the effort if you don't like it.

Oct 24th, '15, 02:47

by kyarazen » Oct 24th, '15, 02:47