Do I not like Yancha?

Owes its flavors to oxidation levels between green & black tea.

May 3rd, '17, 16:31

Do I not like Yancha?

by abnyc » May 3rd, '17, 16:31

I'm a tea novice: not a beginner, not an expert. I tend to favor oolongs, and thought that Wuyi yanchas were my favorite oolongs. So I laid out some $$ for 2 Zheng Yan teas: a Rou Gui and a Bai Ji Guan, from a respected vendor (Tea Urchin). To my surprise, I've been really underwhelmed by both.

I get what people mean, now, when they talk about yancha being "oily" and perceived in the throat, and I've liked those qualities in both these higher-end teas. But there seems to have been a trade-off, because both teas were very low in aroma and flavor, compared to the more mid-range yancha that I've had in the past. None of the nutty flavor I'd associated with yancha's roast, and none of that deep fruitiness that had seemed to come along with minerality in the more budget-friendly teas. If I didn't know beforehand the provenance and price of these new teas, I'd probably write them off as "thin" and weak.

Now, I'm going to keep working at these teas, and see if I can acclimate my palate to their more subtle flavors, but I also wanted some feedback on whether my assumptions about yancha are off-base. Is my characterization of fruity-mineral aroma and nutty-roasted flavor not accurate for good yancha? Should I expect this thinness?

For reference, I used ~3.25 g / ~65 ml, at 195-205 degrees (increasing temperature over the course of the session). Steep times started at 30s and increased imprecisely to about 1m30s by steep 7 or 8.

May 3rd, '17, 17:24

Re: Do I not like Yancha?

by steanze » May 3rd, '17, 17:24

For yancha, pack the pot (5-6 gr for 65ml), and go with quick infusions (a few seconds). If you want more punch, crush about 1/4 to 1/3 of the leaves and put them in the pot first. Then add the remaining intact leaves. When you pour water in the pot, pour gently around the rim.