Getting to know oolongs. Background on Ta-Hung-Pao?...

Owes its flavors to oxidation levels between green & black tea.

Jan 29th, '08, 19:32

Getting to know oolongs. Background on Ta-Hung-Pao?...

by mark_e_wallace » Jan 29th, '08, 19:32

I am very new to tea, and I have really gotten to enjoy some of the nice oolongs from my local tea shop (Tea Embassy in Austin). Yesterday I had occasion to be in my local Asian Market, so I made my way over to the teas. Naturally, they had a pretty full selection, and I really didn't know quite where to start.

On a whim, I picked up a red can of oolong tea labeled as:

China Fujian Oolong Tea
Ta-Hung-Pao
Xiamen Tea Imp. & Exp. Co. Ltd.

and on the side:

Sea Dyke Brand

For 125g, it was dirt-cheap at $6.00. It doesn't hold a candle (so far) to the Monkey Picked and Good Leaf "Jia Yeh" that I got from Tea Embassy, but it's still not bad.

Anyhow...I'm totally unfamiliar with this tea, but the fact that it occupies premium space in the local Asian market suggests that it has some merit. Can y'all tell me anything about this tea? Patience, please...I'm new. :D

Thanks,

Mark

Jan 29th, '08, 19:45
Scrolling: scrolling

by scruffmcgruff » Jan 29th, '08, 19:45

Well, there is quite a bit of folklore surrounding da hong pao (another romanization of ta hung pao) and it is one of the more famous Chinese teas, but at the price you bought it, it's more likely to be a generic Wuyi oolong, most likely shui xian. Adagio has a similar tea, "Wuyi Ensemble," if you want something to compare it to.

I'm guessing yours isn't real da hong pao because genuine dhp is actually fairly expensive, and it is common practice to substitute it with similar/cheaper Wuyi teas.
Tea Nerd - www.teanerd.com

Jan 29th, '08, 21:36

by mark_e_wallace » Jan 29th, '08, 21:36