Feb 10th, '15, 01:53

Felix v.Bomhard – 100 pots, a learning path

by Bok » Feb 10th, '15, 01:53

Dear everyone,

In this post I wanted to share my path to learn how to create a Teapot.
My teacher said to me that in order to be able to make a good teapot, I will need to make at least 100.

The first 20 are pure learning exercises. Getting the basics right and how the parts work together. Body, lid, spout and handle.

During the next 40, one has learned what a teapot essentially is and how shape and structure influence its handling.

The last ones from 60-100 are on the way to mastering a good teapot.

Of course I went through a phase of about a year, where I was learning the weel-throwing basics from scratch. None of those items I did back then, where meant to be used, they simply served to teach the basics.
I also want to add, that I am not a professional potter, nor do I aim to be, I came to pottery due to my passion for tea. To be honest I never liked playing with “mud” back in school, but when I moved to Taiwan and discovered the tea culture and everything attached to it, I got intrigued!

So, please take those 100 as what they are, learning steps on my path to my personal teapot.
Last edited by Bok on Sep 17th, '15, 22:31, edited 1 time in total.

Feb 10th, '15, 02:02

Re: 100 pots – A learning path

by Bok » Feb 10th, '15, 02:02

So, without further delay, pot number one.

Every time, one pot is finished, I test it with my teacher to see how it performs. The pottery class has a downstairs tea room/shop, where friends and students pop by to have some tea and chat.

My critique:
This Pot is very heavy! I did not properly control the thickness, especially the lower part of the body. As well, the handle is too long, which makes it dificult to handle. The tiny knob on the lid is a tad to short, so it makes the lid slippery when wet.

I also did not spray enough layers of the glazing, which is why the colour is not as white as it should be…