Tea Pairings with Honey Varietals

For general/other topics related to tea.

Mar 7th, '16, 18:49

Tea Pairings with Honey Varietals

by Xote » Mar 7th, '16, 18:49

I enjoy many of my teas without any sweetener but once in awhile I will add honey to some.

If you ever use sweeteners in any of your teas, and it is honey, what types of tea and honey pairings do you like?

I find, like with teas, the terroir of honey is quite fascinating, especially when it comes to raw honeys.

I've been exploring the world of various types of honeys recently and seeing which honeys are best paired with certain teas/tisanes, among other things.

Today, I received my order of raw, organic buckwheat honey. It's my first time trying it.

I have to say it is quite distinctive. I can see how it would be an acquired taste for some. But I don't think it's a honey that can be tried in a shallow manner. I think you must take it in and try to appreciate the different layers of taste and elements in it's aroma.

The best way I'd describe it's aroma: deeply haylike, pungent, molassey, rich, earthy and damp, and malty.

The taste is pretty much similar to the way I described the aroma. It is complex.

I think it might go well with strong teas that can't easily be overpowered by buckwheat honey's strong fragrance and unusual taste...such as black teas, rich and heady herbal teas/tisanes like rooibos and so on, and dark green teas.

Today I decided to pair my buckwheat honey with a rooibos chai blend. Buckwheat honey isn't as sweet as other honeys are, but it paired nicely with the spicy and warm and subtle vanilla notes of the rooibos.

Mar 7th, '16, 18:59

Re: Tea Pairings with Honey Varietals

by pedant » Mar 7th, '16, 18:59

i don't add honey to tea, but i do like drinking warm honey water.

a glass of hot water with a spoon or two of honey stirred into it is a nice way to appreciate honey flavors imo. i do this with basically any high quality honey.

Mar 7th, '16, 20:11
Vendor Member