Tea Noob: Sweetener vs No Sweetener

For general/other topics related to tea.

Apr 11th, '17, 08:33

Tea Noob: Sweetener vs No Sweetener

by TeaHeadFamily » Apr 11th, '17, 08:33

Background: My husband and I have been drinking via tea bags (I know, blasphemy) for many years. When my husband and I met, he knew I enjoyed tea and so the first year we were dating, about 5 years ago, he bought me a tea pot from Teavana and we started also doing loose leaf tea which we enjoy a lot but don't know a lot about.

About a week ago my husband's coworker gave him a cup of some Irish Breakfast Tea from Adagio that was brewed from a tea bag and he really loved the flavor. We had never heard of Adagio so we went onto their website and purchased some equipment and more loose leaf tea. Our shipment will be arriving this Friday and we are excited to try it.

In the meantime we had decided to put together some loose leaf tea blends of our own for my mom for mother's day and were going to use tea bags so we started looking into how to make our own and in the process came across Don Mei's videos on YouTube from China Life/Mei Tea and have been watching all of his anti tea bag videos but also all his videos on Gong Fu style brewing and watching him drink tea.

I have not seen him put any sort of sweetener in his tea. Is sweetener not something that should be used? Is it only authentic tea if we don't use it? If we do use it, what kind should be used? I know when we had originally purchased tea from Teavana we had purchased German Rock Sugar but I also try to avoid real sugar. That being said, if I am going to use sweetener should it be real and not artificial? What is the problem with using any sort of sweetener?

Thank you!

Apr 11th, '17, 09:14

Re: Tea Noob: Sweetener vs No Sweetener

by chingwa » Apr 11th, '17, 09:14