Margaret's Hope White Pearls

White and yellow teas are among the most subtle.

Jan 19th, '07, 18:33
Scrolling: scrolling

Margaret's Hope White Pearls

by scruffmcgruff » Jan 19th, '07, 18:33

I just put in an order for some Margaret's Hope White Pearls (http://www.thunderbolttea.com/pages/spe ... rdens.html) from Thunderbolt Tea. I'm a huge fan of Darjeelings, and I just got my first gaiwan, so this seemed like a perfect match. :)

Anyway, I'm curious about a couple of things. Does anybody have experience with either this tea or this vendor? This is my first time with both, so I wanted to hear some others' thoughts. Thanks!

Jan 19th, '07, 19:54

Darjeeling logo

by Salsero » Jan 19th, '07, 19:54

I love their site and their teas look wonderful, but I can't find the official Darjeeling logo that protects consumers. It is pictured at the top of the following page:

http://www.dtrdc.org/home.htm

If you want to pursue it, I suppose you could ask Thunderbolt why they don't display the Darjeeling logo. I know that none of the India tea I buy from US retailers has the logo, but I would expect to see it all over the place from an Indian supplier.

Still, the site makes my mouth water! I may contact them myself to ask the question.

Jan 19th, '07, 21:26

by scruffmcgruff » Jan 19th, '07, 21:26

Hmm, thank you for mentioning that-- I've heard of the logo but I don't think I've ever looked for it. I've always assumed that Upton is big enough that they couldn't go unnoticed if they were selling fake Darjeelings, but I suppose it is more important for the smaller sites.

On the Thunderbolt FAQ page it seems to say that the buyer should check the individual tea packets for the logo, so maybe that's where it can be found. I'll let you know when my order comes if the logo is there or not.

Jan 19th, '07, 22:21

Meanwhile . . .

by Salsero » Jan 19th, '07, 22:21

Meanwhile, I couldn't resist sending them e-mail inquiring about the logo issue. Will keep you informed.