Mar 10th, '13, 12:45

Defintion of "old" zini and what's this pot

by everyman » Mar 10th, '13, 12:45

Hi -

I'm new to teachat. My intro post is here http://www.teachat.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=18383.

I dove into Yixing pots with limited experience. Thanks to the internet you never truly dive in blind - unless you want to - but after reading hundreds of posts here I know way more facts and feel way less knowledgeable than before.

This is the pot I bought. http://www.ateatime.com/shop/old-zini-m ... ha-teapot/

It passes all the important tests. Aesthetically it makes me want to use it and brings me pleasure. It enriches the tea it's paired with.

Now I want to know more about my new girlfriend.

The info calls it old zini. When does zini become "old" before a certain year/period? At a certain point/depth in the mine?

From what I've read it's more pure and has a smoother texture than pin zini.

Anything you can add to my understanding of old zini would be appreciated.

Also any info/impressions you have on that particular pot would be appreciated too.

Thanks

Andrew
Attachments
teaset.JPG
teaset.JPG (41.59 KiB) Viewed 1346 times

Mar 10th, '13, 12:58

Re: Defintion of "old" zini and what's this pot

by edkrueger » Mar 10th, '13, 12:58

You may have missed this recent thread: http://www.teachat.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=18343

I think in this case "old" means that this pot might have even been made before 2014 with clay older than 2013.

Mar 10th, '13, 14:10
Vendor Member

by gingkoseto » Mar 10th, '13, 14:10

I like your telephone! I used to have a pink one that I got from a yard sale for $1. I threw it away during a long-distance moving several years ago and will regret it forever :(