Apr 14th, '17, 23:10

$14 “Yixing” Teapot (Music City Tea) – Is This Really Yixing?

by SuperTonic » Apr 14th, '17, 23:10

Hello – total tea newbie here!

I’m brand new to these forums so my apologies if anyone has asked about this particular pot already, but it (hopefully) couldn’t hurt to make sure.

I recently bought a tea pot for $13.95 that was advertised as a Yixing pot from Music City Tea’s Amazon Store. I’ve seen good things about their teas on these forums but nothing about their tea ware, so I figured that I’d cough up $14 and see what I get. At first glance, it doesn’t seem to raise any immediate alarms – no chemical smells or overly glossy exterior – but I’ve also never been within 5 feet of a real Yixing pot, so my observations probably don’t count for much. Thus, I’ve decided to go ahead and upload some pictures of the pot and see what more experienced posters have to say, so fire away!

(Also, it would be greatly appreciated if someone could translate/decipher the four characters on the bottom of the tea pot. Unfortunately, my proficiency in the Chinese language is far too low to figure it out myself.)

Amazon Listing: https://www.amazon.com/Yixing-Tea-Capac ... 5QF9WX09QV

Pictures (Sorry for the lighting – if it’s abhorrent enough that the pictures need to be retaken just let me know): http://imgur.com/a/xLQyv

Thanks in advance!

Apr 15th, '17, 00:29

Re: $14 “Yixing” Teapot (Music City Tea) – Is This Really Yixing?

by steanze » Apr 15th, '17, 00:29

Hi SuperTonic! Welcome to the forum!!

As you might suspect from the price you paid, the pot you bought is not an Yixing pot. It is also clearly wheel thrown, and I am not entirely sure that it would be safe to drink from it. I would avoid making tea in that pot - a simple porcelain gaiwan will brew much better :) perhaps you can use the pot as a flower vase.