Oct 11th, '05, 22:42

New tea user; questions about brewing & Zisha Yixing po

by floridahawk » Oct 11th, '05, 22:42

I am new to the tea experience. I am wanting to switch from coffee to tea for numerous reasons. There is a tea house in my area that I have purchased some red teas and was given a sample of black to try. I bought the red b/c was told was very little to no caffeine and could drink all day at anytime. Wanted the black for that "wake you up in the morning jolt".

Currently I have been making an ice chai tea by throwing the leaves into stainless steel mixing bowel, then when it cools decanting into a glass pitcher and keeping in the fridge for all day drinking. Not sure if the stainless steel is the best thing don't want to leach metals into the tea. Have gone online and see a lot of things, including Zisha Yixing pots from a distrubuter in the states that look very nice for about $35. I have also seen some very inexpensive ones on ebay. The site www.acornplanet.com talks about how there are alot of cheap ones out there that may contain LEAD in the "clay" that it is made of! It also talks about seasoning the pot.

My question is two fold: 1.Do you have to use only the same type of tea in one of those pots? Can I use green, or black or red brewed in the same pot? And one buying one of those cheap ones out there how do you know or can you really know if you are getting a product that is safe to make tea in? Some of the pots are really pretty but I know that sometimes cermaics made overseas can have a lead content in them and not be safe to use.