Jan 3rd, '15, 10:25

Newbie advice...

by dvto2 » Jan 3rd, '15, 10:25

I am just getting into tea having been mostly a coffee and an herbal tea drinker. I want something simple and easy for my office. I have a small sink area that I keep a coffee maker and I thought about getting the Trinitea. Some people seem to love it but there have been problems as well (malfunctions, plastic concerns, etc). Years ago I acquired a Utilitea kettle simply to heat water in a safe way (I burnt too many teapots on the stove) and it has been fantastic. I don't mind that the water temperature is not precisely calibrated which you would need a pricey pid to do; I just use an instant read thermometer to get my desired temp. The convenience of the Trinitea would be great but might i be better off with the Utiltea and something like the ingenuity or even the porcelain cup and infuser. Any thoughts?

Jan 3rd, '15, 12:12

Re: Newbie advice...

by futurebird » Jan 3rd, '15, 12:12

What kind of tea do you drink? For many teas you don't need a fancy kettle. a $30 one will do.

Jan 3rd, '15, 12:18

by JRS22 » Jan 3rd, '15, 12:18

Is the utilitea available for office use or would you be buying a second one?

Jan 3rd, '15, 13:24

by dvto2 » Jan 3rd, '15, 13:24

I guess I am thinking green, oolong, and black but I'm not really sure at this point.

I have a Utilitea for home so I am looking for something for the office.

Jan 3rd, '15, 13:45
Scrolling: scrolling

by Chip » Jan 3rd, '15, 13:45

Buy the better varietea and keep it home. Take you'd utilitea to work.

A device like the trinitea may be more complicated on the cleaning end and may not be a simple work solution. A kettle and teapot is a more simple solution, imho.

Jan 3rd, '15, 13:58

by dvto2 » Jan 3rd, '15, 13:58