Jan 19th, '07, 05:14

Using infuser baskets - good tea or not?

by Taigu » Jan 19th, '07, 05:14

Hi, I'm rather new to the art of tea, and my question is: will using infuser baskets yield as good tea as using a teapot? I typically make only one cup of tea, to which purpose using a teapot seems too much.

My infuser basket looks something like this:
http://www.cookscorner.net/AccessoryPics/teeli.jpg

It's all metal and it has a lid.

Jan 19th, '07, 09:33

by procarel » Jan 19th, '07, 09:33

While it is best to brew tea loose so that it can fully unfurl and move about I sometimes use an infuser basket for convenience sake. If the basket is large enough so the tea is not cramped it will work fine. Some teas expand a great deal(like Ti Kuan Yin) and would not allow good circulation in the basket but some of the smaller leaf types do pretty well.

Jan 19th, '07, 10:13

by TeaFanatic » Jan 19th, '07, 10:13

It actually looks pretty big to me, so I would say yes go ahead and use that basket for your tea. While, a few teas may not have all the room that they need to expand, it will work for the majority of teas.

And, it is a MUCH better option that a teastick or a teaball in my opinion.
"Make tea not war"

Favorites: Sencha, Dragonwell, White Monkey, Silver Needle, Gyokuro, Kukicha, Darjeeling

Jan 19th, '07, 12:04
Scrolling: scrolling

by Chip » Jan 19th, '07, 12:04

...I have used infuser baskets for years and felt it was ok...and it is ok. It is generslly not best though. For most blacks, I would say it is almost as good as none at all.

But I have noticed an improvement when not using a basket of any kind when brewing oolong, green, white and pu-erh. The differences may be subtle, but they are perceivable.

By the way, I used the RofT large mesh infuser basket which is larger and more porous than any other basket I have seen. I will still use a basket in certain circumstances where it is impractical to not use one...
blah blah blah SENCHA blah blah blah!!!