Aug 30th, '14, 15:39

First teapot for Japanese tea

by bob_leo » Aug 30th, '14, 15:39

Since I am new to the art of tea and I do not have an unlimited budget, I decided to limit my researches to Japanese tea only. But before buying tea I will need help in choosing pottery!

I saw the beautiful Yakishimei Shiboridash Teapot Set for aprox 60$ at O Cha (can i post the link?). Do you think this woul be a nice set to start with? Does it have good quality for the price? Would it be suitable for brewing all kind of Japanese green teas (Fukamushi apart as description says)?

If you have any better raccomandation feel free to post them

PS: I have seen there are many similar discussions in the forum but I could not find anything about this set and its use for a beginner.

Aug 30th, '14, 18:18

by Peacock » Aug 30th, '14, 18:18

That's an absolutely great piece to start with, and the size is great for your Japanese tea needs.

Aug 30th, '14, 19:05

Re: First teapot for Japanese tea

by miig » Aug 30th, '14, 19:05

It certainly is a nice set, still it would be a good idea to take a deep breath and get a kyusu with a fine strainer also. If you want to try some Japanese teas you will very quickly come across teas with a certain amount of fine particles, and with these two together, you could brew virtually everything.

Aug 31st, '14, 05:30

by bob_leo » Aug 31st, '14, 05:30

Thank you for your answers!

Anyway i thought i could start with that set because I have alredy planned the way to introduce myself to Japanese tea. I was willing to place 3 subsequent orders to try almost all kind of tea. Something like that:

1st order: The mentioned set+ "standard" (not Fukamushi) Sencha+ standard Gyokuro + Hojicha

2nd Order: A kyusu+another, probably Fukamushi, kind of Sencha+ another Gyokuro

3rd order+ Gawan+Sifter+Spoon+Matcha