Jun 7th, '17, 13:02

Kyusu: Hokujo, Gisui

by MmBuddha » Jun 7th, '17, 13:02

I'm very new to Japanese tea and teaware, but I've been finding out what I can about kyusu and Japanese craftsmen online, and I'd really like to buy a good, handmade pot sometime soon.

My favourite pot makers I've come across so far are Hokujo and Gisui. I'm basing this largely on esthetic preferences, I love the form and appearance of their pots in particular, but I know the former has some fans around here in terms of the effects of his clay too. Gisui I've heard less about, but I love the understated style of his pots and would like to know more.

I hoped I might ask if anyone here has owned or used the kyusu of both (or either) of these craftsmen, and if there's anything you could tell me about the differences in their clay, how the tea made in either might differ. Or simply any differences between the two I should take into account.

On a related subject, I've heard teachatter's mention how well Hokujo's pots work with Chinese/Taiwanese teas (gaoshan I've heard mention of in particular). If anyone has tried high mountain oolong etc in a Gisui pot I'd love to hear your impressions.

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

Jun 7th, '17, 20:29

Re: Kyusu: Hokujo, Gisui

by Ferg » Jun 7th, '17, 20:29

We seem to have similar tastes. I too consider Gisui and Hokujo among my favorite pot makers...of the pots I currently own and use so far at least. :)

The following is only my advice based on my experience. It's by no means an end-all be-all. You'll find that each has their own preferences, including yourself, over time.