Question about storage of cakes

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Jul 5th, '09, 15:01

Question about storage of cakes

by Sam. » Jul 5th, '09, 15:01

I'm still very new to the whole pu-erh scene and I've only bought a few small tuochas but I had a question about the large cakes. I don't have any setup to allow me to store cakes over long periods of time to allow proper aging nor do I have the know-how to try doing any of that yet, so if I was to buy a cake it'd be to drink it within the next few months.

So my question is - when you buy a cake, not for storage but for immediate consumption, do you keep it in cake form and just pry off small chunks of it at a time when you need them, or do you brake up the entire cake (in this fashion: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=th86Ge4fFJs) and keep the broken up chunks stored in an airtight container until they're all gone?

Jul 5th, '09, 15:55

by thanks » Jul 5th, '09, 15:55

Break off chunks as you go. Rewrap the beeng and you're all set!

Jul 5th, '09, 17:35

Re: Question about storage of cakes

by tacobell » Jul 5th, '09, 17:35

Sam. wrote:in this fashion: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=th86Ge4fFJs)
I think this is a great video. I am a fan of breaking up the entire cake. As I understand it, these are blends of teas with often not an even distribution of leaves, i.e. sometimes larger leaves are on the outside as they are prettier. By breaking up the cake completely, I think you get a better mix of the teas in the tea.

Jul 5th, '09, 18:25

by aKnightWhoSaysNi » Jul 5th, '09, 18:25

I guess it would be okay to break it up if you plan on consuming the tea quickly. However, I think it will lose it's flavor if stored broken up for a longer period of time.

Jul 5th, '09, 18:29

by thanks » Jul 5th, '09, 18:29