New to tea ... completely

Please introduce yourself here to our membership

Aug 18th, '09, 18:02

New to tea ... completely

by paisan70 » Aug 18th, '09, 18:02

Hello, teachatters! I am new to this forum, but it's better than that. I'm new to tea altogether. But after looking all over the internet for a relatively definitive answer to an important question, I know that I found the right place.

I have never liked tea. Not even iced tea, and that's saying a lot from The South (I was born and raised in Tampa, Florida). But then something happened ... I grew up. That is to say, I've grown to like many things that as a child or adolescent I didn't like ... dare I say, even hated. But I've always been an amateur chef. Over the many years of loving good food, I wanted to learn how to pair wines. And so I have become a wine enthusiast. I have become one of those dreaded foodies, "ugh, can you believe they served that with that?" I hang my head in shame. But, my favorite program on tv is Good Eats with Alton Brown, and after watching his True Brew episode on Tea, I suddenly found myself interested in trying it again. Yummy! So that's why I liked hot tea at the chinese restaurants when i was a kid.

I went to a food experience of a lifetime at Victoria and Albert's, a 5 diamond 4 star blah blah blah restaurant at the Grand Floridian Hotel in Walt Disney World. I mention that because it was a 6 course meal with wine pairing that we ate excruciatingly slow to savor every moment. When it came time for dessert, my friend and I normally order coffee, but we experimented by having tea with the fruity desserts (I think it was oolong). Man oh man!! Tea goes GREAT with fruit desserts.

Alas, I need to post in the teaware and accessories section so I can start off with the right teapot. God bless you all, and I look forward to joining you in poo poohing the non-tea drinking heathens.

Aug 18th, '09, 18:48

Re: New to tea ... completely

by woozl » Aug 18th, '09, 18:48

Welcome,