2000 Pu-erh Mini Brick

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Jul 13th, '10, 17:18

2000 Pu-erh Mini Brick

by TwoPynts » Jul 13th, '10, 17:18

I just got some 2000 Mini Pu-erh Tea Brick from PuerhShop.com. It is my first time experiencing pu, though I could swear I've had something similar at restaurants. I rather liked it, though don't really have anything to compare it to yet. It seems like this batch has been available for a while and I was wondering what other members here thought of it.
Thanks.

Jul 13th, '10, 17:39

Re: 2000 Pu-erh Mini Brick

by brian » Jul 13th, '10, 17:39

I'm no pu expert but I have had the mini-brick and I enjoyed it, I thought it was a really good value. The chopped leaves make it a bit of a mess to brew, but with a careful pour most of it will stay in the pot. It has a nice, full flavor, and seems that it's pretty easy for a beginner (like me) to get a good cup. VERY short infusions for the first few, with that chopped up leaf it gets strong in a hurry, although I don't remember every having any problem with bitterness.

Jul 13th, '10, 18:10

by shogun89 » Jul 13th, '10, 18:10

I had it about 3 years ago and still have some lying around. I will brew it up for the first time since then and tell you what I think.

Jul 14th, '10, 09:51

by TwoPynts » Jul 14th, '10, 09:51

Thanks Brian and Shogun89. Being a pu-erh beginner I value the feedback. I realize it is probably pretty low on the scale of true quality shu's, but the price is hard to beat and the results are good, so that's what really matters, right? For what it is, it seems to be a good value, and I look forward to brewing up some more this morning and seeing how my second experience with it goes. It did get a little bitter for me by the fourth infusion, but that is probably more my fault than the tea's. :oops: